PONDER THIS…

Well, 2011 has been an interesting year for many. 

When I reflect back on the last 12 months, it amazes me how much we can cram into our daily lives and then feel that we still haven’t done enough (and then wonder where the time has gone). Why is that? 

Media and marketing would have us believe that we are inadequate, not good enough, need to buy this product to finally be happy or achieve this level to be considered a success… the whole time missing the point of ’it’s the journey that counts, not the destination’.  We fail to enjoy the minutes of our lives as we focus on the outcomes of the many activities we juggle.

Now is a good time to reflect on our direction, change what doesn’t feel right (check in with your gut—it will tell you) and build on that which does (feel the passion?).  One of my all time favourite poems sums it up nicely.

A Return to Love…

My deepest fear is not that I am inadequate.

My deepest fear is that I am powerful beyond measure.

It is my light, not darkness, that most frightens me.

I ask myself “Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?

Actually, who am I not to be?  I am a child of God.”

My playing small doesn’t serve the world.

There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so other people won’t feel insecure around me. 

I am meant to shine, as children do.

I was born to make manifest the glory of God that is within me.

It’s not just in me; it’s in everyone.

And as I let my own light shine,

I unconsciously give others permission to do the same.

As I am liberated from my own fear, my presence liberates others.’

(Marianne Williamson,)


 May the spirit of the season bring joy and peace… Sheralee

 

This entry was posted in Journey, Mindfulness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

